Catching Up: My first Glymm Box!

Hey ladies, this one is from June 1, 2012, and any text in purple I have added new today

Hey Beauties!

So my fiance was just here and we got the final big wedding details all squared away!  That is the major reason my life has been so insane lately.  I have a lot to catch up on here, I have a lot of photos stored away to post for you guys!

I am going to start off with…  GLYMM!  Glymm Box is a monthly subscription service for Canadians who want to receive 4-5 deluxe samples of beauty products delivered to your doorstep.  It costs $12/month, shipping is free, and they have a shop on their website where you can order full sizes of the products that you like with free shipping.  Also, you earn reward points for filling out surveys about the products you receive every month (the take less than a minute) and you can redeem those points for $$ off a purchase in the store (100 points = $10)!

When you sign up you will fill out a survey to give Glymm an insight on your beauty tastes, and this will help determine the products you get!  Some months you may get one of two different products, or sometimes you may get one of 2-3 colours of a certain product based on your profile.

https://www.glymm.com/share/smwoodward

I have been subscribed for 4 months now, and I love it.  There is usually at least one full size item included in each box, which more than covers what you pay for it.  And they have just changed their packaging to the cutest makeup bags that are alone worth the cost of the box!

I’ll start you off with my first Glymm box, from February:

This is what the boxes used to look like when they arrived!  All pink and pretty =)

When you opened it up it was all wrapped in a ribbon and the month’s theme card, was on top, and on the back it listed all of the products in the box and the details about them.  February’s theme was “Camera Ready”.

The goodies!

First up, Mai Couture Blot & Bronze papers.  What the card says: “Blot & Bronze with our phenomenal 2-1 Blotting/Bronzing Paper.  Eliminate excess oil without disturbing your makeup.  The pigmented paper deposits a hint of golden colour to even out skin tone while the refined shimmer gives the skin a radiant glow.  The result is an oil-free sun-kissed complexion.”

I have yet to try these, as I really feel like they are a summer product, but I will let you know what I think when I do!  Full size is 100 sheets for $24.

Next up is the Glam Glow Mud Mask.  What the card says: “Lights, Camera, Action!  Designed for Hollywood’s entertainment industry, it tingles, tightens & lightens in 15 minutes, so you’re always camera-ready.  GLAMGLOW uses volcanic rock, french sea clay and real pieces of green tea leaf.  It will give you super sexy, super radiant skin”.  Full size is 50mL for $78, but the card included a promotion code to get it for only $50!  The coupons expire about a month after the box arrives, so to take advantage you really should be trying the products right away!

This product took some trial and error for me.  The first time I used it I hated it!  The formula was so dry that I really found it difficult to apply and I wound up losing about half of my product down the sink =(.  I had my “ah-ha!” moment while trying to take it off.  Adding just a little bit of water makes the clay infinitely more workable and it is really pleasant to use!  I used the water to sort of mush the clay around my face and applied a proper thin coat.  It dried up again and washed off easily leaving behind soft smooth skin.  The next time I use this I will put a little bit in my hand and add some water and make the paste BEFORE applying to my face.  I anticipate much greater success!

Next is a Sula Natural eye shadow in a soft purple hue (I think each box got a different colour depending on your profile).  What the card says: “Keep your eyes looking flirty fresh with this trendy, easy-to-use Sula Beauty shadow.  Enjoy a playfully pretty eye shadow in gorgeous colours.  They’re long lasting, easy to blend and made with natural ingredients.”

This is definitely a spring shade, so I haven’t tried it yet, but I will very soon!  This is a full-size sample, which is awesome.  It retails for $8.

Finally we have a Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm, also full size!  I have had one of these before in a different colour.  The one in my box is hibiscus, which I ALMOST bought when I got my other one, so glad I didn’t!  Anyways, I love these and will use this a lot =).  What the card says: “This tinted lip balm by Burt’s Bees gives your lips a hint of colour with a soft sweet flavour.  It was also voted Best New Lip Product by Consumers.  It’s made with natural ingredients that moustiruze and condition your lips.  This stuff really is the ‘balm’.”

This retails for $7.99.

As you can see just the two full size products more than pay for the cost of the box!

I was really excited to get my first box, and anxiously await my new ones every month =).

When you sign up you can choose a one-time box, a monthly subscription (which I have), a 3 month gift-subscription or a 1 year subscription (you get 1 month free!).  For each subscription you get a certain amount of Glymm points to redeem in the store.  Here is a list of some of the brands that you might get each month: http://www.glymm.com/our_brands/

Check it out here if you are interested: https://www.glymm.com/share/smwoodward

Hope this is helpful and some of you find a new little beauty indulgence!

I am no longer subscribed to this service as I have moved to the USA, but for my fellow Canucks out there it’s a great thing to look into!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

