Recent NOTDs

Hey Beauties!

I’m sorry it’s been so long again!  For my first new post I am going to catch you up on some of my recent nail polish adventures!  This one’s going to be picture heavy!

First up:  “Foggy” by Pop Beauty.  I had my eye on this for over a year before I finally purchased it.  I saw it in a boutique store in Vancouver, but they were selling for $20 each!  Too steep for me =(.  My friend and I were there for about an hour and we tried on every single colour they had.  So much fun!  This was my stand out favourite.  It is a medium grey with a beautiful shimmer that makes it so beautiful and not your boring average grey.  I was so excited to see it was on HauteLook, and for only $3!!  I couldn’t resist and bought 5 colours =)

IMG_0468

 

Next up is another Pop Beauty polish!  This is “Denim Metal”, a glitter-packed metallic blue.  It reminds me of Essie’s “Aruba Blue”, but full of blue and silver micro-glitter.  The texture is a little strange to apply, but it turns into a beautiful finish.  I do think it looks way better with a top coat, the glitter kind of sucks in the shine a little bit without it. A nice vibrant colour that I think I will be wearing it a lot in the summer.

IMG_0478

This was a bit of an experiment of mixing colours.  My main colour is “Marrow” by Butter London and I honestly don’t know what the accent colour is.  It is an OPI mini that my mom got me for Christmas a couple of years ago.  Marrow is a really nice purple creme polish, that I find has a hint of grey to it.  It isn’t the greatest formula that I have encountered from Butter London and goes on a bit patchy, but three coats finish it up nicely.  This is going to be a staple on my nails for the fall!  The OPI colour is a really rich dark purple with blue and purple shimmer.

 

IMG_0479

 

This next colour is from the China Glaze fall Safari collection.  It is called “Exotic Encounters”.  This is a dusty turquoise creme polish and took 2 coats to be fully opaque.  Here i topped it with OCC “Flatline” topcoat for a matte finish.  I really like how it turned out!  It’s not quite like a blackboard on your nails, which I like =)  I managed to avoid the white spots with the topcoat this time too!  This is the only polish I picked up from the collection.  Do you guys have any other favourites that I should try to find?

IMG_0538

These were my Valentine’s Day nails ❤  I used my new Zoya polish (the first time I ever tried one!) in “Sarah”.  How can I not love it when my namesake polish is this gorgeous?!  It’s a fiery red with golden orange micro-glitter that really shows in the bottle more than the nail.  It is such a vibrant colour!  I can’t get over how beautiful this is =)  I think I’m a little biased ;).  I used Konad stamping polish and a Spa Secrets plate to stamp on the hearts to make it a little bit more festive.

 

IMG_0547

 

Ok, this is a colour that I should have had on my hands a LONG time ago, especially after everything I heard about it.  I finally did when I went to Sally’s and they had a promotion on where if you spent $3 you got an Orly polish in the old packaging for free!  I found this little guy hiding in the basket =)  “Rage” is a beautiful rose gold metallic polish with a foil finish.  It is really nice because it works on every skin tone.  It doesn’t make you look pasty and cold like silver can, and it doesn’t make you look sallow, like true gold can.  It’s a really nice metallic neutral.  Plus, who wasn’t obsessed with rose gold?  I used Sally Hansen “Strobe Light” as the glitter accents, I’m not sure that I liked how it looked though.  They looked like a very similar tone so I thought they would work nicely together (I hadn’t used either polish yet), but not so much.  The smaller pink glitter disappeared into the base polish and it kind of just left these random sparse large silver chunks, not pretty!  [On a side note, I am really sad Orly changed their packaging. I loved the old rubberized lids!  It was my favourite packaging of all polish =(  Now they look kind of cheap…]

IMG_0556

IMG_0558

 

Don’t they look like they would work well together?

IMG_0561

 

This was a fun experiment.  This is Zoya’s new Pixie Dust formula!  I picked up “Vespa” a pale sage green and got it the first day it shipped!  These are designed to be matte, textured polish with obvious glitter particles.  It is definitely all of those things!  It took 3-4 coats to be fully opaque, and the textured finish really took a while to get used to.  For the first day it was so weird, it felt like I had something stuck to my nails, and I got that “shivers down my spine” feeling whenever they brushed up against something.  Especially my wool jacket!  After a while I got used to it though.  It was a really unique look!  I think this is a similar idea to OPI Liquid Sand polishes.

IMG_0635

IMG_0650

I tried to mess up the focus to show the glitter!

 

IMG_0651

 

Ok, this is the last one for this post, I promise!!

This is sadly another unknown colour though.  I really wish they would put the names on the minis! =(.  It is a beautiful pink with a subtle shimmer from the Holland Collection [I think it is “Pedal Faster Suzi!”].  It’s a very nice cool toned pink, not normally a colour I would wear, but I really liked it =).  I bought this in a mini set that came with 4 (5?) of the polishes from the collection.  This is definitely a winter/spring colour that will look best on me when I have a pale complexion.  I used a Spa Secrets stamping plate and a Konad polish to do the houndstooth print on my accent nail.  It didn’t quite work perfectly, but I think it was pretty good for a first try at a full nail stamp!  Sadly my top coat smudged it.  I think I need to invest in the Konad top coat.

IMG_0657

 

Sorry this was so long!  I hope you enjoyed it though =)  My next polish post will be on my St. Patrick’s Day nails! =D

xoxo

Leave a Reply

