NOTD: Chevron Blues

Hey Beauties!

I promise I will get back into the swing of this…  But for now, here is another NOTD!

I call this one “Chevron Blues”.  It is Essie’s “Mint Candy Apple” (which I always thought would be a minty green?), and Essie’s “Bobbing for Baubles”.

mint_candy_apple.jpg

Essie: Mint Candy Apple

Here is the photo of “Mint Candy Apple” from the Essie website, it looks green!  This is the main colour that I used for my manicure.

It takes 3 coats to be opaque, and dries very quickly, so sometimes it can get streaky or goopy while applying to the nail.

Make sure it is completely dry between coats, or you might grab and drag the polish underneath!

bobbing_for_baubles

Essie: Bobbing for Bauble

“Bobbing for Baubles” is a beautiful stormy grey-blue colour.  It is one I never really looked twice at before, but after one use I’m in love!  It goes on so smoothly, and it nearly opaque in one coat.  It is dark on the nail, but it is still really obvious that it’s not black.  I really don’t have another colour like this.

And here is the result!

IMG_0691

Chevron Blues

Again, Mint Candy Apple is the main colour (it looks Robin’s Egg blue, right!?), and Bobbing for Baubles is the base colour on my accent nail.  I used striping tape to shape out a chevron and painted inside the lines with Mint Candy Apple.  This was my first attempt at anything like this, it’s fairly simple, but I made sure to make it a challenge ;).  I first tried to use a small nail art brush, but I found it was too stiff to use and just left a streaky mess.  So I let that dry and then went in with the regular brush and it turned out not too badly.  I removed the tape right after the second coat to get a nice crisp line.  I think this would work better with a better formula.

I am pretty happy with how this turned out, especially for my first try!  I love the colour combo =).  I thought about doing a second chevron at the tip of my nail and having sort of an angled french tip look, but decided against it.  Maybe next time?

What other colour combinations do you guys think this would look good in?  Are you loving the chevron trend too?

Be sure to tweet me pictures of your manicures! @wstcoastbeauty

xoxo

Leave a Reply

