Open With Me: March Birchbox!

Hey Beauties!

I’m not going to technically consider myself late on this one because my April Birchbox hasn’t arrived yet! ^_^

DSC07748

 

The theme is “March Madness”.  Getting a little sporty are we Birchbox??

DSC07788

DSC07749

 

First up is Oscar Blandi Hair Lift Mousse.  “Inflate limp locks with this innovative volume reviving mousse.  Made with high-tech ingredients (ooohhh!) it amplifies each strand for voluminous hair that looks and feels full of life.”  Full size is $23

This is a nice travel size (1oz), and I can’t wait to see if it works!  I wasn’t overly thrilled with the volumizing hairspray from them that I got in a previous box, so fingers crossed!

DSC07750

 

 

Next is Wish Shave Crave Shaving Cream.  “The organic shea butter in this foam-free shaving cream makes for an insanely close shave and leaves skin incredibly soft.”  Full size is $20.  This is a 0.75fl oz sample.  I think it will last me about 5 shaves maybe?  It will be perfect to take on vacation to the beach, because I really don’t have any travel sized shaving cream right now!  It is a blueberry scent according to the tube.  To me it smells like grape Flinstones vitamins.  Did anyone else take those as a kid?  The really cool shapes, but awful flavours in the chewable vitamins.  It reminds me of that…DSC07751

This is a really cool sample!  It is a “MAKE” eyeshadow.  I’ve never heard of this brand before, have any of you used it?  “This new brand’s pretty pigments have serious staying power, and we love that one third of all sales are donated to charity.”  Full size is $18.  This sample is 0.85g, it’s in a tiny little compact but the eyeshadow itself is a decent size!  I would say that it is about the size of an Urban Decay shadow that you would get in one of their palettes?  I love that a portion of the sales goes to charities, and 1/3 is a large chunk!  The colour is “Santa Fe” which is a really beautiful peachy-gold with a slight shimmer.  This will be great if I manage to not lose it!

DSC07752DSC07754

Next up is another MAKE product.  This is their Face Primer Broad Spectrum SPF 30.  “Pump up your makeup’s endurance and protect skin with this two-in-one base and SPF.”  Full size is $30.  This is a 0.18oz (5.1g) sample.  As you can see it comes out a milky-white colour, but this totally disappears once you blend it in.  One of the active sunscreen ingredients is zinc oxide, so that would be where the colour comes from.  That’s great because it means it is a physical sunscreen, which is much more effective and better for you!  It also doesn’t contain oxybenzone (which may be carcinogenic when exposed to UV radiation) or avobenzone (which is not as bad as oxybenzone, but still not great).  I haven’t tried this on my face yet, but I will be saving it to take travelling with me!

DSC07757DSC07758

Finally we have the little “Beauty Extra” that is included in every box.  This month it is a Madewell for Birchbox Emery Board.  It has a cute floral pattern, and is your typical rough emery board, same texture on both sides.  This would be useful for taking off length, but I would always use a finer one afterwards to polish off the edges.  It is a $5 value.DSC07756

 

I hope you enjoyed this post!  As you can tell I tend to save a lot of the samples that I get in my boxes for when I travel because they are always the perfect size!  Sorry that means that I can’t always review them for you =S

What did you guys get in your boxes?  Let me know down below, and be sure to check out Birchbox here if you don’t already subscribe!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

