Glymm: Beauty Gone Wrong

Hi Beauties,

After coming back to my blog after a two week hiatus with my family visiting, I found a comment on an old post with some sad news.  The Canadian beauty box company Glymm, which I subscribed to and enjoyed before moving to the United States, abruptly shut down their business in April, leaving many subscribers having paid for up to 4 boxes that they never received.  Now, all business ventures are a risk, and as a consumer you are partially responsible for this, but it just sounds like Glymm was very irresponsible in the way they handled the transition.  Continually billing customers for services they couldn’t (and knew they wouldn’t) provide, as well as continuing to take orders from their online shop and never shipping the items.  I have even heard someone claim that they charged some clients for their May boxes, and then shut down and removed all public presence within 24 hours.  They sent subscribers a short email indicating that they were going out of business effective immediately, and that they would not receive a refund for anything they had been charged for.

You can read the whole story here.

I guess I consider myself lucky that I was forced to unsubscribe when I moved.  It sounds like the bag had been going downhill for a while before this happened.

I found out about all this because Nikki from NailPolishCanada.com commented on one of my posts and shared the news story with me.  I wish I had seen this earlier because she told me that they were putting together a FREE box ($25CAD value) that they would give to a certain number of Glymm subscribers who had been ripped off in the whole debacle.  Sadly they are all sold out, but I still wanted to post about this, to let you know about a company that was trying to step up and help a girl out!  While it’s not the end of the world, it still really sucks to feel like you’ve had something pulled out from underneath you like this.  So please, share the love and check out a website that tried to step in and brighten your day.

I hope none of you were affected by this!

xoxo

(Disclaimer: I am not in any way affiliated with either Glymm or NailPolishCanada.com)

Leave a Reply

