Pictorial: Black and Bright – Geometric Nails

Hey Beauties!

Here is a simple pictorial (picture tutorial) for a manicure that I wore last summer.  I wanted something a little bit funky that incorporated a bunch of colours, as well as black polish for an edge.  Here is what I came up with!

Image

Please excuse that there is tip wear and an Instagram filter on this photo…  This was before I really figured out what I was doing with taking photos for my blog, and apparently this is the only photo I have after I cleaned up my nails!  But you get the idea…  (This was actually my first ever Instagram photo!)

Here’s what you need!

Image

Scissors, 5 bright polish colours, opaque black polish, scotch tape, top/base coat

First Step: Paint each nail a different, bright colour and let it dry completely.

Image

From L –> R (Pinkie –> Thumb): OPI “Kiss Me On My Tulips”, Essie “Mint Mojito”, Essie “First Dance”, Butter London “Blagger”, OPI “Red Lights Ahead, Where?”

Image

Next: Cut up straight strips of scotch tape to the desired thickness that you want the stripes of colour to show through (or use striping tape).  For the pattern that I created you will need 4 strips for each nail, so 40 in total.  Arrange the strips in the desired pattern, either on all nails of one hand, or work one nail at a time.  Paint over with a thick coat of black polish.  This needs to be opaque in one coat!

Image

Quickly peel off the tape strips before the polish dries to get nice, crisp lines.  This will show off the bright colours underneath!

Here is the finished look before I cleaned up around the edges (I’m normally messy, but this is to the extreme!):

Image

You can see that I didn’t get all of the strips the same size, if you want these to be perfect I recommend using striping tape.  I really like how it turned out, and I got lots of compliments on them!

What do you think?

If you recreate this look please tweet me photos @wstcoastbeauty !

xoxo

Leave a Reply

